A Panic attack disected

  • A panic attack is a sudden episode of intense fear that triggers severe physical reactions when there is no real danger of apparent cause.

I was in my Creative Writing Workshop, pulling out my binder full of manuscripts for the day when it happened. I looked up at the lights and started blinking rapidly as though they were flickering off and on. I grabbed my chest. It felt like I was having a heart attack; I couldn’t breathe, my chest was tight, and I began sweating and felt like death was at my door step.

Mind you I was sitting down, I knew something was wrong because once I looked up from the table I saw everyone looking at our professor. Only the girl to my right noticed I wasn’t my usual perky self, since it was my manuscript to be critiqued that day.

I remember her asking if I was okay, if I was having an asthma attack.

All I could do was stare at her in disbelief. This was my panic attack in front of a large group of people. When I noticed the professor was rushing towards me I began screaming and ran out of the classroom.

Monsters were everywhere I looked, I was being attack and didn’t know where or who to turn to. My professor must have known exactly what was happening cause she caught up to me with my purse and dumped it out on the floor looking for a pill bottle. She found it, purple with an “X” on it, handing it to me she assured me I’d be okay. Xanax saved my life that day.

Within a few minutes the monsters disappeared, I stopped yelling and crying, and the world was no longer spining. I was on my way back to the classroom when my professor stated “well I guess we know what your memoir piece will be about.”

Panic attacks vs Navy life. Navy life is was..

Leave a Reply

