labels. yay or nay?

I dislike labels when it comes to mental illness since once you say you have one, everyone turns into flubber and can only associate you now with everything bad and rotten.

I get asked periodically “why do you label yourself with your mental disability?” At the beginning I didn’t have much of an answer then years later I came across this article a brave woman wrote that summed it up for me. She wrote:

“a label is stablity. It is  a grounding force in a world where reality has to be fought for. It is not just a “label”-it’s a lifeline,”

It answers questions that people ask along with questions that people ask along with questions I ask myself at times. I feel lost without this label; as it speaks volumes to me, the label states some of my symptoms and medication that may need to be taken.

Leave a Reply

